Photo of Iowa

Grassley News

Grassley Questions EPA on New Methane Reduction Plan... Read More >>

Grassley Urges Resolution to Congolese Children Adoption Suspension... Read More >>

For Immediate Release
December 16, 2011

Grassley Recommends Iowa Students to the U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON – Senator Chuck Grassley has nominated 57 outstanding Iowa students for consideration for appointments to the United States service academies.

“The young Iowans who want to serve our country and enter the academies are just remarkable for their accomplishments and leadership.  Every year, the candidates are an impressive reflection on our state.  These young people signal continued excellence in the United States armed forces,” Grassley said.

Grassley said he has the opportunity every year as a United States senator to nominate current or future Iowa high school graduates for a select few academy placements.  The Air Force, West Point Military, and Naval academies each select at least one qualified nominee from Grassley’s recommendations.  The Merchant Marine Academy makes selections in proportion to the state’s representation in Congress.

Grassley encourages Iowa students to consider applying to more than one academy.  “The academies offer some of the best options for higher education, and they offer an outstanding way to serve our country,” he said.

Students interested in obtaining an academy appointment should begin the application process in the spring of their junior year of high school.  Senator Tom Harkin and representatives in the United States House of Representatives also make recommendations.  The academies subsequently select students based on the number of vacancies available for the next school year.  Traditionally, the high quality of Iowa nominees results in several Iowa students being selected to attend each academy.

Grassley said he will make announcements when appointments to the academies are offered to Iowans.  The lists below include the names, high schools and hometowns of Grassley’s nominees for the 2012-2013 school year.

U.S. Air Force Academy
Collin Ascherl, MOC-Floyd Valley High School, Granville
Brett Deters, Ankeny High School, Ankeny
Daniel Eichman, Dulwich College Beijing, Dubuque
Jackson Espeset, Ames High School, Ames
Ryan Giarusso, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls
William Guthmiller, MOC-Floyd Valley High School, Orange City
Jesse Hahn, Highland High School, Ainsworth
Nicholas Heth, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls
Hanna Hubert, Woodbury Central High School, Hornick
Noah Jones, Davenport West High School, Davenport
Isaac Kinrade, Maquoketa High School, Maquoketa
Felix Knutson, Home School and South Hamilton High School, Hubbard
Tyler Krpan, Indianola High School, Indianola
Peighton MacLeod, Northern University High School, Cedar Falls
Colby McGinley, Lourdes Central Catholic High School, Hamburg
Jeffrey Melton, Jefferson-Scranton High School, Jefferson
Tyler Reiser, East High School, Sioux City
Tyler Rottinghaus, Urbandale High School, Urbandale
Adam Wachholz, Home School, Ottosen
Mahlon Whitead, Sioux City West High School, Sioux City
West Point Military Academy
Hannah Adamson, Iowa City West High School, Coralville
Adam Christian, Southeast Polk High School, Altoona
Conor Dolan, Muscatine High School, Muscatine
Christopher Drew, Iowa City West High School, Coralville
Olivia Fairfield, Iowa City West High School, Coralville
Andrew Foster, West High School, Waterloo
Genna Gibbons, Dowling Catholic High School, Perry
Travis Mallo, Mason City High School, Mason City
Andrew Meyers, Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School, Reinbeck
Matthew Miller, Bettendorf High School, Bettendorf
Jack Oberman, Waukee High School, Clive
Daniel Rigdon Jr., Dunkerton Community School, Dunkerton
James Saker, Fremont-Mills Senior High School, Tabor
Wyatt Sann, Clarion-Goldfield, Clarion
Sean Steil, Wapsie Valley High School, Oelwein
Jindalae Suh, City High School, Iowa City
Aloysius TeKippe, Earlham High School, Earlham
Erik Thorgaard, Ottumwa High School, Ottumwa
Nick Osmonson, Sioux City East High, Sioux City
Timothy Yu, West High School, Coralville

U.S. Naval Academy
Jeffrey Critchlow, Carlisle High School, Carlisle
Nathaniel Dyett, Johnston High School, Grimes
Zachary Elsner, Boone High School, Boone
Samuel Kuznetsov, Bettendorf High School, Bettendorf
Tucker Nash, Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids
Andrew Peterman, Bettendorf High School, Bettendorf
Matt Truninger, Northeast Middle/High School, Clinton
Daniel Van Horn, Glidden-Ralston Community School, Glidden
Chantel Blair, Jefferson-Scranton High School, Paton
Jack Randall, Spencer High School, Spencer
U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Logan Braadt, Ankeny High School, Ankeny
Benjamin Jacobsen, A-H-S-T High School, Avoca
Tyler Laska, Xavier High School, Cedar Rapids
Marlis Owen, Southeast Polk Senior High School, Des Moines
Brady St. John, Solon High School, Solon
Keith White, Benton Community High School, Van Horne
Haley Wireman, Valley High School, West Des Moines
*Chantel Blair, Jefferson-Scranton High School, Paton
*Jack Randall, Spencer High School, Spencer
**Nick Osmonson, Sioux City East High, Sioux City

*Nominated by Grassley for both the Naval and Merchant Marine academies.
**Nominated by Grassley for both the West Point Military and Merchant Marine academies.