Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 24, 2021

The Honorable Tom Vilsack U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Ave., S.W. Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack,

We are writing to direct your attention to a recent U.S. district court decision which vacated a portion of the Department of Agriculture ("USDA") New Swine Inspection System ("NSIS") rule relating to line speeds at NSIS packing plants. By removing this provision six plants will be forced to reduce their output, and by extension, their purchase of hogs.

While the economic impact to these packers will be significant, it is the nation's small and medium-sized hog farmers who will suffer the greatest harm from upstream impacts. It is imperative that USDA act quickly, and pursue all available options, to prevent this reduction in packing capacity which is set to take place at the end of June.

Although NSIS is relatively new, it is based upon a pilot program that operated successfully for decades. Its predecessor, the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point ("HACCP") Inspection Models Project ("HIMP") program was developed during the Clinton administration and ran continuously through 2019. As a result of HIMP's success, USDA began consideration of a permanent program during your first term as Secretary under the Obama administration and finalized the program during the Trump administration.

The order to vacate the NSIS line speed provisions was due to the rulemaking process. The court determined the agency failed to satisfy the Administrative Procedure Act ("APA"), claiming it did not address certain comments raising worker safety concerns. Adherence to the APA is crucial to preserve sound and reasoned rulemaking by federal agencies. However, there is compelling data about the safety of workers in NSIS. Specifically, FSIS data between 2002 and 2010 shows fewer worker injuries in NSIS program facilities over time and fewer injuries at NSIS plants when compared to their non-NSIS counterparts.

If USDA fails to act, American hog farmers will face significant harm. Research from Dr. Dermot Hayes at Iowa State University indicates that the decision would reduce national packing capacity by 2.5% which will create a surplus of hogs on the market—dropping prices by \$10.70/cwt or roughly \$23.22 per animal. The total economic loss of this decision on U.S. hog farmers is estimated at \$80 million in 2021.

As the hog production cycle spans nearly a year, hogs set to enter this reduced-capacity market are already being raised. Farmers have little ability to alter their supply in the next year. Many farmers supplying these NSIS plants will need to find alternative destinations for their hogs. The resulting surplus and reduced demand in a concentrated geographic region will shift economic power to pork processing companies. The culmination of economic losses from the producers selling their operation. By failing to act, USDA will drive consolidation in the pork industry.

To avoid these consequences, the Department must defend the NSIS program through all available channels while the court-ordered 90 day stay is in place. Failure to do so will leave our nation's hog producers to bear the brunt of the consequences due to no fault of their own. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Charles Grassley United States Senate

John Boozman United States Senator

John Thune United States Senator

Sen W. Marshall

Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator



Thom Tillis United States Senator

Jim Hagedorn

Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

G.T. Thompson Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

ichelle Juschbad

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Joni & anot

Joni K. Ernst United States Senator

M. Mater

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Jerry Moran

Jerry Moran United States Senator

Roy Blunt United States Senator

Set Ticher

Deb Fischer United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

V-L-M

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

4000

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

auhl L

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Richard Burr United States Senate

Mike Braun

Mike Braun United States Senator

Jim Inhofe United States Senate

Tracey Mann

Tracey Mann Member of Congress

Koburt S. Aatta

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

James R. Build

James E. Baird Member of Congress

Mary E Miller

Mary Miller Member of Congress

Waren S

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Kody Dais

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Jeff Fortenberry Member of Congress

John Moolenan

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

508 Hu

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

James

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Rick Crawford Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer Member of Congress

1 h

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

am.

Sam Graves Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Fred lepto

Fred Upton Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

I Courge

David Rouzer Member of Congress

ashley Hinson

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

in C. Meclain

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Lary Ruchen

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Logy 7 hung

Greg Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Gun Waque

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

Kih Hudson

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Mariannette (Miller Meeks

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Brack. Wer

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M.-Member of Congress

Tedd Budd Member of Congress

lelles

Fred Keller Member of Congress

< cm Cole

Tom Cole Member of Congress

Frank D. Lucas Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Timbalberg

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

a dan

Jim Jordan Member of Congress

anunt

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

BI Mill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

(James Comer)

James R. Comer Member of Congress

Johnson

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

1 terma

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Jake D. Moore

Blake Moore Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

modison Cauthon

Madison Cawthorn Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Jam 7 Smit 0

Jason Smith Member of Congress