## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Donald Trump President of the United States of America The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We respectfully ask you to expeditiously approve the request made July 31, 2018, by Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds, for a declaration of a major disaster for the State of Iowa as a result of severe weather that produced high winds, severe thunderstorms, hail, heavy rains, flash flooding, and riverine flooding. These severe weather conditions caused significant damage to public and private property between June 6, 2018 through July 2, 2018.

The 30 counties included in this request for public assistance are Adair, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dallas, Delaware, Dickinson, Emmet, Floyd, Hamilton, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, Polk, Sioux, Story, Warren, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, and Wright.

The Governor also requested assistance though the FEMA Individual Assistance Program, the Small Business Administration Disaster Loan Program and the U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance programs for the four counties of Buchanan, Dickinson, Polk, and Winnebago.

After a thoughtful, comprehensive, and rigorous assessment, Governor Reynolds determined this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response and support is beyond the resources and capabilities of the State and affected local governments and that supplementary federal assistance is needed.

We thank you for your prompt consideration of this request. We stand united as a federal delegation with State and local officials - and those resilient Iowans who suffered from these fierce and consequential storms - in working with you and your administration to help expedite this much needed assistance.

Sincerely,

David Young Member of Congress

Steve King

Member of Congress

Charles E. Grassley United States Senator

Johi K. Ernst United States Senator

Jave Loebsack

Member of Congress

Rod Blum Member of Congress