The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary United States Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590

Shailen Bhatt Administrator Federal Highway Administration 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 2059

Dear Secretary Buttigieg and Administrator Bhatt:

As you are aware, on February 25, 2024, a bridge in Lansing, Iowa connecting Iowa Highway 9 to Wisconsin Highway 35 experienced a sudden structural failure, leading to the bridge's closure. Surveys and assessments conducted by the Iowa and Wisconsin Departments of Transportation found that the bridge sustained severe damage due to an external force. On February 29th, 2024. Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation.

Hnited States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510 March 14, 2024

The bridge's closure impacts thousands of Wisconsinites and Iowans, with an estimated 2,200 vehicles previously crossing the bridge daily, and there are limited other options for crossing the river. Those in the community will now be required to travel miles south to the bridge connecting Marquette, Iowa with Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin or north for the bridge connecting La Crosse, Wisconsin and La Crescent, Minnesota.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)'s Emergency Relief (ER) program provides reimbursable funding for the repair or reconstruction of certain Federal-aid highways that have suffered serious damage from natural disasters or catastrophic failures from external causes. On March 4, 2024, the Iowa Department of Transportation submitted a letter of intent to request ER funds and FHWA responded promptly on March 5, 2024, acknowledging receipt of the letter and reiterating the parameters of the ER program.

We strongly support the efforts to get the existing bridge reopened and request that FHWA continue to work with the Iowa and Wisconsin Departments of Transportation to restore traffic on this bridge as soon as possible.

Thank you for your time and attention to this important matter.

Sincerely.

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Joni K. Ernst United States Senator

Charles E. Grassley United States Senator

Ron Johnson United States Senator