

June 23, 2021

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen Chairperson Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Jerry Moran Ranking Member Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Shaheen and Ranking Member Moran:

We write to you today to urge support for funding the programs authorized by the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) in the fiscal year 2022 appropriations process with appropriated funds, in order to ensure that crimes collection money allocated for the Crime Victims Fund will be devoted exclusively to assisting victims of crime.

Originally enacted in 1994, VAWA has helped hundreds of thousands of women by providing access to critical services such as domestic violence shelters, legal aid, and counseling services. In addition to providing services to crime victims, VAWA has raised public awareness about sexual and domestic violence and helped to improve the criminal justice system's response to these crimes. It is critical that these cost-effective programs be funded generously.

Similarly, the Crime Victims Fund was established by Congress in 1984 to support crime survivors by providing medical care, mental health counseling, lost wages, courtroom advocacy, temporary housing, and much more. The Fund is unique because all the money in it derives from fines and restitution paid by criminals convicted of federal crimes and not from taxpayers. Unfortunately, the Fund's effectiveness has been weakened in recent years due to federal prosecutors' increased reliance on deferred- or no-prosecution agreements and the establishment of an appropriations cap on the distribution of money from the Fund. Additionally, \$1.5 billion in the Fund was rescinded in 2015 to provide an offset for a budget agreement with the Obama Administration.

Congress must uphold the commitment it made to victims with the establishment of the Crime Victims Fund. To do so, the cap on the Crime Victims Fund should be set as high as possible during this year's appropriations. Moreover, every last penny brought into the Fund should be used to help victims of crime rather than as funding for other projects unrelated to crime victim's services. We also urge the Subcommittee to boost outlays from the Fund sufficient to provide for an appropriate funding stream for Tribes. Individuals on tribal lands experience high rates of domestic and sexual violence and resources from the Fund are critical in addressing tribal victims' needs.

Thank you for your past support of these programs and related resources for victims of crime. We encourage you to continue to do all that you can to make services to victims and survivors a continued priority in this year's appropriations process.

Sincerely,

Charles E. Grassley Ranking Member

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Thom Tillis United States Senator

John Cornyn United States Senator

Richard Blumin

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr.

United States Senator

Maggie Hassan

United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

10

Jon Tester United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Tammy Direkwatt

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

6 Cover

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

Shurrod Brown

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Thomas R. Carpen United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Cardin en

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Krysten Sinema United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

k R Werner

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

1,

Timothy Kaine United States Senator

aterow

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Robert Menendez United States Senator

200

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

20

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Chini Coom

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Kin Jillions

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

R., UNWS

Raphael G. Warnock United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator