March 23, 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi:

We write to express our outrage at the activities you have undertaken as Speaker in the matter of Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks as Representative of Iowa's Second Congressional District. Iowans made their choice known at the ballot box and Congresswoman Miller-Meeks was elected fairly; the votes have been counted, recounted, and certified in a bipartisan manner. She has taken the Oath of Office and is already serving her constituents. We stand firmly with the American people of Iowa's Second Congressional District – whose right and will it is for her to serve as their elected Representative in Congress.

Furthermore, we are astounded by your hypocrisy as the Speaker to support an investigation into this free and fair election while simultaneously claiming voter fraud does not exist nationally. If election security concerns are unwarranted, as you claim, then there is certainly no reason for the Committee on House Administration to be moving forward with such an outrageous request to unseat the legitimately elected Congresswoman. Indeed, Iowa prides itself on having safe and secure elections, and the state itself has not indicated in any way that it has questions about its November 2020 election. Were the state to have concerns even after the extensive recounts, it is more than capable of evaluating the election it conducted.

As it stands, Congresswoman Miller-Meeks's failed opponent not only lost; she lost in such a clean race that the Hart Campaign did not even attempt to seek the legal remedy in the judicial system, as provided under Iowa law. This failure to follow through with the statutorily provided process to have any claims evaluated before an independent panel of judges underscores that the Hart Campaign does not have a case to make. If this were truly about who won the election, the courts would be involved – the courts have been thrust aside, not even consulted. This matter should be left to independent judges, not partisan politicians. This is not about what the American people want; this is about what you want.

The fact that you are willing to overturn an election for your own political expediency is astonishing, disheartening, and sickening. Additionally, you, Madam Speaker, sent a letter to Congresswoman Miller-Meeks on January 3, 2021, congratulating her on her "election as a

Member of the 117<sup>th</sup> Congress." In addition to being profoundly hypocritical, this is morally reprehensible. There is no cause to question the voters of Iowa; there is no legitimate reason to open an investigation into a certified election outcome you do not like.

As Members of Congress, we swore an oath to uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States. In your letter to Congresswoman Miller-Meeks, you remind her "of the great and humbling responsibility it is to serve our constituents as Members of the House of Representatives." We expect the same from the Speaker – to serve. We call on you to stop this power grab and respect Iowans' decision to elect Congresswoman Miller-Meeks.

Sincerely,

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

we Scaling

Steve Scalise Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

n C. Melan

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Charles E. Grassley U.S. Senator

Joni K. Ernst U.S. Senator

John Barrasso, M.D. U.S. Senator

Kevin Cramer U.S. Senator

in Calvert

Ken Calvert Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

ver mann

Tracey Mann <sup>•</sup> Member of Congress

Mike D. Roger

Mike D. Rogers

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Harsha Machburn

Marsha Blackburn U.S. Senator

Tim Scott U.S. Senator

Rick Scott U.S. Senator

Tom Cotton U.S. Senator

Shelley Moore Capito U.S. Senator

Ch

Yom McClintock Member of Congress

Ken Buck

Ken Buck Member of Congress

Tan Bishop

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

1 Pill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Jody Hice Member of Congress

Unnt

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

l (.) M

Roger Marshall, M.D. U.S. Senator

James M. Inhofe U.S. Senator

Roger F. Wicker U.S. Senator

Ted Cruz U.S. Senator

hour D. Amores

Mark Amodei Member of Congress

Mike Garcia Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

Vodey Arrington Member of Congress

AD

Kevin Brady Member of Congress

Jake D. Moore

Blake Moore Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Lauren Boebert

Member of Congress

Maria Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

onnew Ralph Norman

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

M.D.

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

ernel C

Roger Williams Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

Eric A. 'Rick' Crawford Member of Congress

ecl. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Andy Biggs Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Yvette Herrell Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson Member of Congress

Meal P. Dunn, M.

Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Steve Stivers Member of Congress

Somh

Jim Banks Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

V.

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

H Athur

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls Member of Congress

Al.

Scott Franklin Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

tarsalianger

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress

li Mal

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Kov Balderson Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

modison Coutho

Madison Cawthorn Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Matthew Rosendale, Sr. Member of Congress

milalberg Tim Walberg

Member of Congress

75rood

Mo Brooks Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress

w 5. e

Andrew Clyde Member of Congress

Elise Stefanik

Member of Congress

Pat Fallon Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner Member of Congress

Nancy Ma

Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress

Veller

Fred Keller Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

al I bully Carta

Earl L. 'Buddy' Carter Member of Congress

Patrick McHenry Member of Congress

mary E Miller

Mary Miller Member of Congress

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Jadan Jordar

Member of Congress

Clay Higgins Member of Congress

2 Estes

Ron Estes Member of Congress

Greg Pence Member of Congress

Beth Van Duyne Member of Congress

lev

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Alle Sou

Michelle Steel Member of Congress

Carlos A. Gimenez Member of Congress

andra (Jenne

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

albed

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Charles 'Chuck' Fleischmann Member of Congress

ged Jim Hagedorn

Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress

Baird

James R. Baird Member of Congress

1au

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Kevin Hern Member of Congress

Can ble

Tom Cole Member of Congress

alorski au

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Victoria Spartz

Victoria Spartz Member of Congress