

Iowa House Republican Caucus

August 20, 2018

The Honorable Charles Grassley Chairman United States Senate Judiciary Committee 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 chuck_grassley@grassley.senate.gov The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member United States Judiciary Committee 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 senator@feinstein.senate.gov

Dear Senators Grassley and Feinstein:

As members of the Iowa House of Representatives, we would encourage all members of the United States Senate to confirm Judge Brett Kavanaugh in a respectful and efficient manner.

Senators Grassley and Ernst know better than most how important it is for elected officials to listen to the people they represent. That's why we have spent the past several months knocking on doors to talk with Iowans. What we consistently hear is that they have grown tired of the obstructionism that they constantly see from Washington DC. Iowans expect Congress to do its work and address the priorities of the people that elected them.

You can begin restoring the trust of these folks by quickly confirming Judge Brett Kavanaugh as our next Justice to the Supreme Court.

Americans deserve a Supreme Court Justice who is fair and has a deep respect for the rule of law. Most importantly, they deserve someone who interprets our Constitution the way it is written, rather than performing mental gymnastics to reach a pre-determined outcome based on personal preference. Judge Kavanaugh exhibits these important qualities which makes him clearly qualified to serve.

Judge Kavanaugh's educational, professional, and personal achievements are unmatched. He earned his B.A. from Yale College, graduating with honors, and went on to earn his law degree from Yale Law School. Following graduation, he clerked for several judges, most notably Justice Anthony Kennedy, and held a number of legal roles in both the public and private sectors. He was appointed to the United State Court of Appeals in 2006.

Judge Kavanaugh is also widely respected in the judicial community and by members of both political parties. When first nominated to the Court of Appeals, he was confirmed with bipartisan support and his writings have been cited by numerous judges and other legal professionals.

While some may not agree with every position he has taken during his long legal career, there is near universal agreement that he is highly qualified to serve on the Supreme Court.

Americans are tired of gridlock. Show your constituents that you are capable of doing what they sent you to Washington to do, and quickly confirm Judge Brett Kavanaugh as our next Justice on the Supreme Court.

Respectfully,

Representative Linda Upmeyer Speaker of the House

Representative Rob Bacon **Representative Chip Baltimore** Representative Clel Baudler **Representative Terry Baxter** Representative Michael Bergan **Representative Brian Best** Representative Jane Bloomingdale Representative Jacob Bossmann **Representative Gary Carlson** Representative Dave Devoe **Representative Cecil Dolecheck Representative Dean Fisher** Representative Joel Fry Representative Tedd Gassmann **Representative Pat Grassley** Representative Stan Gustafson **Representative Kristi Hager** Representative Mary Ann Hanusa **Representative Greg Heartsill Representative Dave Heaton Representative Lee Hein** Representative Jake Highfill Representative Ashley Hinson **Representative Steve Holt Representative Chuck Holz** Representative Dan Huseman Representative Jon Jacobsen

cc: President Donald Trump Vice President Mike Pence Representative Chris Hagenow Majority Leader

Representative Megan Jones Representative Bobby Kaufmann Representative David Kerr Representative Jarad Klein Representative Kevin Koester Representative John Landon Representative Shannon Lundgren Representative Dave Maxwell Representative Andy McKean **Representative Gary Mohr** Representative Norlin Mommsen **Representative Tom Moore Representative Ross Paustian Representative Dawn Pettengill Representative Walt Rogers** Representative Sandy Salmon **Representative Mike Sexton Representative Larry Sheets Representative David Sieck** Representative Rob Taylor Representative Guy Vander Linden **Representative Ralph Watts Representative Matt Windschitl** Representative John Wills **Representative Gary Worthan** Representative Louie Zumbach