Chuck Grassley

United States Senator from Iowa





Grassley-Backed Resolution Designating National Women’s Small Business Month Passes Senate

Nov 01, 2019
WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate today passed a bipartisan resolution authored by Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.) designating October 2019 as National Women’s Small Business Month. This resolution recognizes more than 12. 9 million women-owned small business across the United States that generate $1.9 trillion in economic activity. This is a 21 percent increase since 2014. Women-owned firms are growing at more than double the rate of all other small businesses.
The National Women’s Small Business Month honors women small business owners and women entrepreneurs and recognizes the significance of the contributions of women to the small business community. This resolutions also supports and encourages young women entrepreneurs to pursue their passions and create more start-up businesses, and recognizes the importance of creating policies that promote a business-friendly environment for small business owners that is free of unnecessary and burdensome regulations and red tape.
“October is National Women’s Small Business Month and I want to recognize the many women-owned businesses that make our economy stronger. In Iowa, we work hard to inspire women to start businesses and support them in their entrepreneurial journey. According to American Express, Iowa ranks eighth for growth in the number of women-owned businesses, as well as in their own growth in employment and revenues. The network growth for women entrepreneurs and access to resources have helped make the difference in these women’s lives and our communities. I hope this growth will continue,” Grassley said in a floor speech.
Additional Senate co-sponsors of the resolution include U.S. Sens. Alexander (R-Tenn.), Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Booker (D-N.J.), Braun (R-Ind.), Cantwell (D-Wash.), Capito (R-W.Va.), Collins (R-Maine), Coons (D-Del.), Cramer (R-N.D.), Crapo (R-Idaho), Daines (R-Mont.), Duckworth (D-Ill.), Enzi (R-Wyo.), Ernst (R-Iowa), Feinstein (D-Calif.), Fischer (R-Neb.), Gardner (R-Colo.), Hassan (D-N.H.), Hawley (R-Mo.), Hirono (D-Hawaii), Hoeven (R-N.D.), Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Inhofe (R-Okla.), Kennedy (R-La.), King (I-Maine), Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Lankford (R-Okla.), McSally (R-Ariz.), Perdue (R-Ga.), Peters (D-Mich.), Risch (R-Idaho), Roberts (R-Kan.), Romney (R-Utah), Rosen (D-Nev.), Scott (R-Fla.), Scott (R-S.C.), Sinema (D-Ariz.), Wicker (R-Miss.), Wyden (D-Ore.), and Young (R-Ind.).