Chuck Grassley

United States Senator from Iowa





Momentum Building: Eight More Senators Join Landmark Criminal Justice Reform Bill

Feb 12, 2018
One fifth of U.S. Senate now cosponsors of Grassley-Durbin legislation
WASHINGTON – Over the last week, eight additional cosponsors have joined the Sentencing Reform and Corrections Act of 2017, bringing the total number of cosponsors to 20. The bill is slated for a vote in committee this coming Thursday, February 15.
Senators joining the list of cosponsors include:
  • Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho),
  • Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.),
  • Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.),
  • Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.),
  • Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.),
  • Sen. Gary Peters (D-Mich.),
  • Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa); and
  • Sen. Bob Casey (D-Penn.).
Last Congress, this landmark legislation had fewer cosponsors before it was taken up by the Senate Judiciary Committee, where it was approved with a sweeping vote of 15-5.