WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate passed a bipartisan resolution supported by Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), and led by the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Small Business Committee, Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and Benjamin Cardin (D-Md.), designating the week of September 20-27, 2020 as the 57th anniversary of National Small Business Week. This resolution recognizes the more than 30,000,000 small business across the United States and commends the entrepreneurial spirit of the small business owners and their impact on their communities.
“Small businesses create jobs and export products around the world. Small businesses are the backbone of our communities and I know that this pandemic has hit many especially hard. I honor these hard working Iowa entrepreneurs and employees in celebrating the week of September 20th as National Small Business Week.”  Grassley said in a floor speech.
Small businesses employ nearly half of the workforce of the United States, make up 99.7 percent of all employers in the country, employ veterans, produce one third of the exports, and account for nearly half of private sector output. Two out of every three new jobs in the United States are created by small businesses, which highlights the importance of creating a small business climate that allows for sustained economic recovery and celebrates the invaluable contribution small businesses make as the backbone of the country. This resolution supports increasing consumer awareness of the value and opportunity small businesses bring to their local communities, understands the importance of providing more access and resources to minority-owned and underserved firms and understands the need to provide further assistance and relief to the small businesses of the United States during these unprecedented times.
Additional Senate co-sponsors of the resolution include Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Corey Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-N.M.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho),Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Corey Gardner (R-Colo.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Martha McSally (R-Ariz.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), James Risch (R-Idaho), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).
Full text of the resolution can be found HERE.