IOWA – Following Governor Reynolds’ announcement that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Individual Assistance for ten additional counties, Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) issued the following statement:
“Iowans have been hit hard by the recent derecho; we’ve heard their stories and seen the damage to homes, crops, businesses, and communities firsthand. We’ve been working with Governor Reynolds and the administration to get federal assistance to the state, and today more Iowans have that support available to them. This doesn’t mean our work is done. We’ll continue fighting to make sure Iowans who have been affected are getting the help they need to recover from these devastating storms,” Grassley and Ernst said.
Individuals and business owners in Benton, Boone, Cedar, Jasper, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, and Tama counties may now apply for the FEMA Individual Assistance Program. FEMA Individual Assistance can provide disaster-affected homeowners, renters, and businesses with programs and services to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, and medical expenses. Linn County was approved for Individual Assistance on August 20.
Residents in the 11 counties approved for the Individual Assistance Program may apply online at or by calling the FEMA helpline at 800-621-3362. TTY users can call 800-462-7585.
In her August 16 request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration, Governor Reynolds had requested a total of 27 counties be approved for Individual Assistance. Through further assessment and validation by the state and FEMA, it was determined 16 of those counties did not have sufficient damage to be approved for the Individual Assistance Program, including nine counties which withdrew from consideration: Audubon, Clarke, Grundy, Iowa, Jackson, Jones, Madison, Muscatine, and Washington.
In addition, damage in eight counties is being validated prior to requesting inclusion in the FEMA Public Assistance Program, providing assistance to public entities and select nonprofit organizations. The following counties will likely be submitted in the next few days for approval for Public Assistance Program funding: Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson, Keokuk, and Washington. If approved, these counties will join the following 16 counties that were approved for Public Assistance funding on August 17 by President Trump: Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Dallas, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, and Tama.