WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate today passed a resolution offered by Judiciary Committee Chairman Chuck Grassley and 55 of his Senate colleagues supporting America’s brave law enforcement officers.  The bipartisan resolution designates May 15-21 as “National Police Week.”

“The men and women of law enforcement make sacrifices both big and small, frequently missing family celebrations and holidays because they believe in serving something greater than themselves.  Sadly, far too many of these dedicated public servants paid the ultimate sacrifice to keep our communities safe.  The work of law enforcement is not just a job, it is a calling.  That calling and those officers’ devotion to duty merits our admiration and we are deeply indebted to them,” Grassley said.

National Police Week, held every year since 1962, is a time to celebrate American law enforcement officers for their bravery and dedication to protecting and serving American communities, and to honor and remember those who perished in the line of duty. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, which contains the names of more than 20,000 officers who were killed in the line of duty, including some 200 Iowans.  This week, the names of 123 officers killed in the line of duty from around the country in 2015 will be added to the memorial.

Grassley’s resolution expresses strong support for law enforcement officers and recognizes the need to ensure they have the equipment, training and resources necessary to safely accomplish their duty to protect the public.  It also encourages people across the country to observe National Police Week and recognize the important role law enforcement plays in building safer communities.

Last week, Grassley joined Senators Joni Ernst, Deb Fischer and Ben Sasse in honoring the life of Council Bluffs Native Kerrie Orozco, an Omaha police officer who was killed in the line of duty last year, just hours before she was scheduled to take delayed maternity leave.

Full text of Grassley’s bipartisan resolution follows:

Designating the week of May 15 through May 21, 2016, as ``National Police Week''.

Whereas, in 1962, John Fitzgerald Kennedy signed the Joint Resolution entitled “Joint Resolution to authorize the President to proclaim May 15 of each year as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week of each year during which such May 15 occurs as Police Week” (36 U.S.C. 136);

Whereas Federal, State, local, and tribal police officers, sheriffs, and other law enforcement officers across the United States serve with valor, dignity and integrity;

Whereas law enforcement officers are charged with pursuing justice for all individuals and performing their duties with fidelity to the constitutional and civil rights of the individuals that the law enforcement officers serve;

Whereas, in 2016, the Senate solemnly commemorates the 25th anniversary of the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, a national monument that pays homage to the more than 20,000 law enforcement heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice for the safety and protection of the United States and its people;

Whereas, in 2016, on the 15th anniversary of the September 11th terrorist attacks against the United States, the Senate honors the memory of those who perished, including the 72 law enforcement officers who were lost on that fateful day, and recognizes the tireless efforts of the law enforcement community to protect the citizenry and homeland through diligent investigations that disrupt terrorist plots, stem the flow of financing to terrorist networks, and bring evildoers to justice;

Whereas law enforcement officers selflessly serve their neighborhoods, often at the risk of their own personal safety, and remain resolute in responding to calls for help despite their badges, at times, serving as a target for senseless acts of violence;

Whereas the vigilance, compassion, and decency of law enforcement officers are the best defense of society against individuals who prowl communities seeking to do harm;

Whereas Peace Officers Memorial Day, 2016, honors 123 law enforcement officers recently killed in the line of duty, including Joseph James Abdella, Gregory Thomas Alia, Darrell Lamond Allen, Adrian Arellano, James Matthew Bava, Gregg Anthony Benner, James Arthur Bennett, Jr., Sean Michael Bolton, Louis Michael Bonacasa, Robert James Bowling, Michael Alan Brandle, Vernell Brown, Jr., Stacey Lynn Case, Trevor John Casper, Craig Anthony Chandler, Eric Keith Chrisman, Michael Anthony Cinco, Neville S. K. Colburn, David Lee Colley, Rodney Condall, Ryan P. Copeland, Gil C. Datan, Christopher A. Davis, Timothy A. Davison, Benjamin Joseph Deen, Nicholas Glenn Dees, Diane Digiacomo, Daniel Neil Ellis, Eric Alan Eslary, Jared J. Forsyth, Carlos Diamond Francies, Donald R. Fredenburg, Jr., Ricardo Galvez, Eligio Ruiz Garcia, Jr., Johnny Edward Gatson, Juandre Devon Gilliam, Sr., Darren H. Goforth, John Ballard Gorman, Terence Avery Green, Arthur Adolph Green, III, Richard Allen Hall, Bryce Edward Hanes, Brent L. Hanger, Steven Brett Hawkins, Rosario Herna1ndez de Hoyos, Randolph A. Holder, Daryle S. Holloway, Carl G. Howell, Michael Jeremiah Johnson, Tronoski Dontel Jones, Jaimie Lynn Jursevics, William Karl Keesee, Christopher Dan Kelley, Korby Lee Kennedy, Sonny Lee Kim, Paul John Koropal, Thomas Joseph LaValley, Joseph G. Lemm, Noah Aaron Leotta, Anthony E. Lossiah, Scott Paul Lunger, Dwight Darren Maness, Richard K. Martin, Chester J. McBride, III, Eli M. McCarson, James Bryan McCrystal, Sr., John P. McKee, Roy D. McLaughlin, Eric O. Meier, Gregory Dale Mitchell, Charles Kerry Mitchum, Brian Raymond Moore, Gregory King Moore, William J. Myers, David Joseph Nelson, Henry Andres Nelson, Ladson Lamar O’Connor, Roger Monroe Odell, Kerrie Sue Orozco, Miguel Joseph Perez-Rios, Joseph Cameron Ponder, Brennan Roger Rabain, Jeffrey Emmons Radford, Anthony A. Raspa, Lloyd E. Reed, Jr., Sean Patrick Renfro, Burke Jevon Rhoads, Frank Roma1n-Rodri1guez, Elsa L. Rosa-Ortiz, Steven Martin Sandberg, William C. Sheldon, Rick Lee Silva, Sonny Allan Smith, Iris Janett Smith, Nathan-Michael William Smith, William Matthew Solomon, Luz M. Soto-Segarra, Michael Lynn Starrett, John Scott Stevens, Garrett Preston Russell Swasey, Liquori Terja Tate, Peter Wagner Taub, Scott R. Thompson, Taylor Joseph Thyfault, Kevin Jermaine Toatley, Zacarias Toro, Jr., Clifford Scott Travis, Nathan John Van Oort, Sr., Peggy Marie Vassallo, Rosemary Vela, Steven J. Vincent, Adrianna Maria Vorderbruggen, Darryl Deon Wallace, James Marvin Wallen, Jr., Daniel Scott Webster, Josie Lamar Wells, Craig Stephen Whisenand, John James Wilding, Robert Francis Wilson, III, Chad H. Wolf, Richard Glenn Woods, Alex K. Yazzie, and Kyle David Young; and

Whereas 35 law enforcement officers across the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice during the first 4 months of 2016: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—
(1) designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2016, as “National Police Week”;
(2) expresses strong support for law enforcement officers across the United States for their efforts to build safer and more secure communities;
(3) recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training, and resources necessary to protect their health and safety while the law enforcement officers are protecting the public;
(4) recognizes the members of the law enforcement community for their selfless acts of bravery;
(5) acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice should be remembered and honored; and
(6) encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week with appropriate ceremonies and activities that promote awareness of the vital role of law enforcement officers in building safer and more secure communities across the United States.